A Three-Sided Model for Continuing Education

EMS World (08/29/18) Alexander, John

For certified emergency medical services personnel, local content requirements under the National Continued Competency Program (NCCP) model are determined by state, regional or local agencies. The use of a continuing education triangle (CET) can help supervisors, teachers and students better shape this portion of the NCCP. One side of the CET represents newly presented information, skills, or equipment, which require teachers to be informed and keep current with publications and emerging topics. The next side of the CET is review, in particular the review of knowledge, skills, and abilities that are used less often. The final component of the CET is the "you" leg, indicating topics relevant to a particular agency, department, or individual. Topics on this side of the triangle depend on local data and should be closely aligned with quality assurance or improvement initiatives.

Read More

Recent Stories
A Perspective on Joint Accreditation for Interprofessional Continuing Education (IPCE)

The EveryONE Project Unveils Implicit Bias Training Guide

Welcome from the Almanac’s New Editor-in-Chief, Ken Korber